Entry-To-Practice Exam For Audiology and Speech Language Pathology (CETP)

Most provinces in Canada have a provincial regulatory body responsible for licensing and regulation of the professions of audiology and speech-language pathology.  Effective April 1, 2020, all applicants to Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan will be required to write the CETP Exam as one part of the licensing process.  Ontario and Alberta are also considering transitioning.  The exam may be required for applicants to Quebec in certain circumstances.  Applicants seeking registration in Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia and Quebec should refer to or contact the provincial regulatory organization in these jurisdictions. 

Regulations for the professions of audiology and speech-language pathology in some Canadian provinces are changing to include an entry-to-practice exam. This will affect many students currently preparing for careers in these professions. CAASPR will held a student webinar on the CETP Exam on November 6, 2019 to explain what the exam means for students.

This page will be updated on a regular basis.  Applicants are also encouraged to contact the regulatory body in the jurisdiction where they wish to practice for more detailed information about registration requirements.